Home

Since Buffy the Vampire Slayer always comes up in class, I thought it might be interesting to look at the episode Restless (Last episode of Season 4)—Buffy’s dream in particular. I wanted to see if I could apply the Jungian theories to her dream, but it proved to be more difficult than I thought it would be. I know I can easily place the first slayer as a shadow. Unlike Buffy, the first slayer had denied herself friends (something Buffy is constantly seeking throughout her dream) and any self happiness. She is, for lack of a better word, a true slayer because she conforms to what the slayer must be—alone. I also think that Tara could be a shadow because she too constantly reminds Buffy that she should concentrate on “what is to come”. She should forget her friends and prepare for the future tasks. Tara and the first slayer are essentially one in the same.

 Adam and Riley I classified as a negative “take action” Animus. While I believe the scene to actually represent the relationship between Buffy and Riley, it could be said that Riley and Adam represent Buffy’s ability to “dominate the world” if she chose to. If she took action, she could become something much bigger.

 I do not wish to place the mother in one of these categories because I really think what happens with the mother exclusively represent the situation between Buffy and her mother. Buffy has been neglecting her mother for her friends and Slayer duties. I guess if anything she could be the self? If anyone else wishes to tackle this one, by all means go for it.

 Lastly, there is the very beginning of the dream where we see Anya frightened and trying to wake up Buffy. I think Anya represents the self because like Buffy, Anya is afraid and fears being alone. Buffy is in constant search of her friends and therefore is no question that fear of being alone is a conscious fear of Buffy’s.

 That is what I came up with, but I know there could be many other interpretations. Let me know what you think!

One thought on “Buffy the Vampire Slayer “Restless”

  1. This is absolutely amazing!! I LOVE Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I catch myself watching the series over and over again. I know exactly what episode you are referring to. I actually really like your take on this and it helps me get a deeper understanding of the episode other than my typical “this is a weird” comment. I myself would not have even thought about connecting this particular theory to the episode. Which is quite interesting as Jungian’s theory seems to fit perfectly with Buffy’s dream. This analysis really gets the brain thinking!

Comments are closed.