Home

I really enjoyed this chapter for its straightforward uncomplicated style. After reading Proppian analysis and Victor Turners forest of symbols this was a welcome break. Perhaps because I am the mother an the main organiser in my family I instinctively organize meals with a specific structure. For example if I get a phone call from a family member at the last minute that someone else is coming home with them for dinner immediatly as the conversation is ongoing in my mind I am resetting a different table and preparing more elaborate  or different dishes to serve. It is part of my nature to plan on the run. So I found a lot of this chapter meanigful or relevant to myself. 

2 thoughts on “Biblical Meals

  1. I found this chapter also very interesting, being a student and it being this busy time of year i plan out my meals for the week. this is so i don’t have to worry about food and i can focus on all my essays due at the end of the month. I found it interesting how she would structure the meals in the chapter it is very different from what my family or i would do.

  2. Likewise I found this chapter to be very meaningful to my experiences because it completely explains my mom’s methods of meal planning. My family comes from Anglo-Saxon ancestry and it seems that based on this chapter the British methods of meal planning have been passed down through the generations. When I was in high school I’d often make dinner for my family and my mother would chew me out if I ever made spaghetti without any ground beef or meatballs because that simply was not a dinner. The same would happen if I didn’t wash carrot sticks or make a salad to go with the pasta but it wasn’t quite as bad as not adding any meat. It’s a good thing we’ve never had any vegetarians over for dinner…

Comments are closed.